Community Cats & TNR in the News (2015)

Follow local New York City and national news concerning feral and stray community cats and Trap-Neuter-Return (TNR).

Hold That Tiger! TNR Holding Space Tips
by Out of the Cage!
Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Alliance Supports Paul the Cat Guy’s TNR Efforts
by Out of the Cage!
Thursday, December 10, 2015

The Cat Catchers
by Kailyn Lamb, The Brooklyn Ink
Friday, November 20, 2015

In fast-changing Brooklyn, a colony of cats and their king stay constant
by Tina Susman, Los Angeles Times
Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Meadowlands feral cats will be fed; charges against volunteer caretaker to be dismissed
by Linda Moss, The Record
Monday, November 9, 2015

More questions than answers on Meadowlands feral cats
by John Seasly, The Record
Friday, October 9, 2015

Crackdown on feedings: Meadowlands cats on their own?
by Linda Moss, The Record
Thursday, October 8, 2015

Cat Fanciers Looking for Homes for Hudson Yards Feral Colony
by Gwynne Hogan, DNAinfo
Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Kitten rescued from Queens sewer drain recovering at vet
by Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Tuesday, October 6, 2015

It’s Time to Prepare Winter Shelters for NYC’s Feral Cats
by Out of the Cage!
Thursday, October 1, 2015

EXCLUSIVE: Census reveals cat crisis as New York City’s stray feline population rises
by Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Thursday, September 24, 2015

AnnaBell Washburn: Elder Stateswoman of the TNR Movement
by Mike Phillips, Out of the Cage!
Wednesday, September 23, 2015

TNR Education Goes to Camp
by Out of the Cage!
Monday, September 7, 2015

NYPD Officers Get Certified in Trap-Neuter-Return
by Out of the Cage!
Thursday, August 13, 2015

New Tech Needed For Fight Against Feral Felines
by Katharine Gammon, Inside Science
Tuesday, August 11, 2015

NYC animal shelters have been overrun with stray and unwanted cats in 2015
by Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Monday, July 20, 2015

Legislation To Help Community Cats In New York State Awaits Cuomo Signature
by Susan Richard, CBS New York
Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Young New Yorkers Love the Littlest New Yorkers
by Out of the Cage!
Monday, July 6, 2015

East Hills to trap, spay feral cats
by Bill San Antonio, The Island Now
Thursday, July 2, 2015

Edie Falco Urges New York Lawmakers to Protect Community Cats
by ASPCA
Tuesday, June 16, 2015

‘Kitten Season’ Leaves Hundreds of Stray Cats on Brooklyn Streets
by Serena Dai, DNAinfo
Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Trap-neuter-return programs reduce community cat populations
by Bill Ketzer, syracuse.com
Sunday, June 7, 2015

At least 7 cats poisoned in central NY feral cat colony
by FOX 5 / MyFoxNY.com
Thursday, June 4, 2015

Feral (community) cat advocates voice support for NY state legislation
by David Figura, syracuse.com
Monday, June 1, 2015

Feral cat bill would fund ‘trap-neuter-release’ efforts across NY state
by David Figura, syracuse.com
Friday, May 29, 2015

For the Love of Cats
by Ellen Brait, NY City Lens
Thursday, May 14, 2015

Purrfect ending: Feral cats rescued from subway station after our article
by Max Jaeger, Brooklyn Daily
Friday, May 15, 2015

Feral Cat Population Drops in NYC
by Lawrence White, Times Union
Thursday, April 30, 2015


NYC Feral Cat Initiative
by Pei-Sze Cheng, NBC 4 New York
Thursday, April 23, 2015

Letter: Humane Society supports TNVR programs for cats
by Brian Shapiro, The Buffalo News
Monday, April 6, 2015

It’s kitten season! Program boosts care
by Cristina Schreil, Queens Chronicle
Thursday, April 2, 2015

Organization Says Feral Cat Colonies At Jones Beach Threaten Piping Plovers
by CBS New York/1010 WINS
Monday, March 30, 2015

New Pet Project: Hempstead Using Mobile Unit To Spay, Neuter Feral Cats
by Sophia Hall, CBS New York/WCBS 880
Sunday, March 29, 2015

Couple takes on task of spaying, neutering feral cats
by News 12 Brooklyn
Monday, March 9, 2015

ARF Teams Up With Brookhaven Animal Shelter to Reduce Feral Cat Population
by Priscila Korb, East Hampton Patch
Monday, March 2, 2015

Bensonhurst livery cab station fixes feral cats
by Max Jaeger, Brooklyn Daily
Friday, February 27, 2015

Car service also a spay and neutering center for cats
by Lidia Curanaj, Fox 5 News New York
Friday, February 27, 2015

Car service turns into animal haven, helps sterilize feral cats
by Rebecca Harshbarger, New York Post
Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Lackawanna City Council to Animal Welfare Advocates: Talk All You Want
by Peter A. Reese, Artvoice
Thursday, February 12, 2015

Meet the NYC Feral Cat Initiative Team: Valerie Sicignano
by Out of the Cage!
Thursday, February 12, 2015

Local-Express: Paul The Cat Guy
by Queens Gazette
Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Meet the NYC Feral Cat Initiative Team: Kathleen O’Malley
by Out of the Cage!
Monday, January 12, 2015

City approves feral cat policy
by Mia Summerson, Tonawanda News
Wednesday, January 7, 2015