Community Cats & TNR in the News (2012)

Follow local New York City and national news concerning feral and stray community cats and Trap-Neuter-Return (TNR).

Video: Beijing faces growing stray cat problem
by Neela Eyunni, CCTV
Monday, December 24, 2012

Killing feral cats doesn’t work; sterilizing does
by Kevin T. Mace, Watertown Daily Times
Sunday, December 2, 2012

Edgewater Park plans to control feral cat colonies
by Jeannie O’Sullivan, Burlington County Times
Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Atlantic City Feral Cats Return Home
by Tails Magazine
Friday, November 2, 2012

Albany veterinarian: Government needed for stray cat problem
by Ashton Pellom, WALB News
Thursday, November 1, 2012

Atlantic City boardwalk cats thumb noses at Sandy and TNR alarmists
by Francis Battista, The Best Friends Blog
Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Much Of Atlantic City Still Under Water After Sandy
by Melissa Block and Audie Cornish, All Things Considered, NPR
Tuesday, October 30, 2012

NYC Feral Cat Caretakers Prepare for Hurricane Sandy
by Out of the Cage!
Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Feral cat care at Staten Island’s Lemon Creek Park is working
by Mark D. Stein, Staten Island Advance
Thursday, October 25, 2012

Cherry’s Second Chance: Cat Captures the Heart of a Good Samaritan
by Melissa Tihinen and Maria Rodi, The Huffington Post
Friday, October 19, 2012

‘Taming Me’ debuts Oct. 16, National Feral Cat Day
by Cape Gazette
Tuesday, October 16, 2012

The Scoop! Celebrating and Saving Feral Cats
by The Humane Society of the United States
Monday, October 15, 2012

Urban Cat League Helps Feral Cats Survive New York City
by Angela Lutz, Catster
Friday, October 12, 2012

Working on a solution to feral cat problem
by Gretchen Barrett, Burlington County Times
Thursday, October 11, 2012

With No Animal Shelter Nearby, Bronx Rescuers Are Left to Their Own Devices
by Winnie Hu, The New York Times
Thursday, October 11, 2012

Feral cat problem difficult to control
by Caroline McMillan, South Charlotte News
Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Broad Effort to Fix New York’s Ferals
by Jillian Jonas, City Limits
Monday, October 8, 2012

WHS Celebrates Feral Cat Week Oct. 13-20
by Kathy Blumenstock, WUSA-9
Monday, October 8, 2012

Education, Not Regulation, Characterizes New Law Affecting TNR in New York City
by Out of the Cage!
Monday, September 3, 2012

The Eastside cat: Caring for one of Austin’s many feral kittens
by Lauren Modery, CultureMap Austin
Sunday, August 19, 2012

Feral Cats in Unincorporated Snellville
by Crystal Huskey, Snellville Patch
Sunday, August 19, 2012

Vineland to consider feral cat program
by Stephanie Loder, The Daily Mail
Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Operation Snip gets grant help
by Kenneth C. Crowe II, Times Union
Sunday, August 5, 2012

Chris Treadway: Feral cat spay-neuter center opens in Richmond
by Chris Treadway, Contra Costa Times
Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Las Vegas Group Reaches Major Milestone with Feral Cats
by Patranya Bhoolsuwan, 8 News Now, WLAS-TV
Wednesday, August 1, 2012

How to Work With Municipalities to Save Community Cats
by Rick DuCharme, Maddie’s Fund
August 2012

Feral cats: Something is being done about their presence in Staten Island neighborhoods
by Diane Lore, Staten Island Advance
Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Feeding Cats in East Harlem or Bed-Stuy?
Invitation from the ASPCA and NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Friday, July 6, 2012

Effort under way to spay, neuter Missoula feral cat colony
by Joanna Wilson, Missoulian
Friday, June 29, 2012

Trial Period Ends with Permission Granted for Feral Cats to Be Fed on Church Property
by Out of the Cage!
Monday, June 11, 2012

Carroll Gardens Resident Aims to Rescue Kittens from Construction Site
by Heather Holland, DNAinfo.com
Monday, July 9, 2012

ALLEY CAT ALLY: Training Torontonians to trap
by Hanna Booth, InsideToronto.com
Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Wake County set to adopt new rules for feral cats
by Brooke Cain, The News & Observer
Monday, June 4, 2012

Free workshop for feral cat maintenance
by The Hudson Reporter
Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Neighborhood Feral Cat Initiative to hold workshop for Bayonne residents
by Andrew Steadman, The Jersey Journal
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Slugs and Ants and Flies, Oh MY!
by Mike Phillips, Out of the Cage!
Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Help Us Help You Get More TNR Support in NYC!
Request from the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Plan reached on reducing population of feral cats
by Teresa Sharp, The Buffalo News
Sunday, May 20, 2012

Method helps control feral cats
by Mark Caudill, Mansfield News Journal
Saturday, May 19, 2012

What To Do If You Find a Stray Kitten
by Laura Drucker, Tails
Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Hempstead reprimands employees for halting feral cat photos
by Aisha Al-Muslim, Newsday
Wednesday May 9, 2012

City of Cats: How Jersey City’s Animal Advocates Work to Manage the Homeless Feline Problem
by Meg Heery, Jersey City Independent
Friday, May 4, 2012

Colony of Homeless Feral Cats in Greenpoint in Danger of Becoming Even More Homeless, Feral
by Dan Amira, New York Magazine
Monday, April 30, 2012

What Do You Do When You Inherit 18 Cats?
by Laura Simpson, Care2
Friday, April 27, 2012

Feral cats spark debate
by Ad Crable, Intelligencer Journal/Lancaster New Era
Monday, April 16, 2012

Six Months Old & Pregnant
Request from the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC’s Animals
Thursday, April 12, 2012

Agreement Allows Cat Colony to Remain at St. James Church in Lower Manhattan
by Life With Cats
Sunday, April 1, 2012

Cats of St. James win archdiocese reprieve
by Amy Worden, Philly Dawg, Philly.com
Sunday, April 1, 2012

Tentative Deal Saves Cat Colony In Chinatown
by 1010 WINS
Sunday, April 1, 2012

Agreement Reached to Allow Cats to Remain at St. James Church
by Out of the Cage!
Sunday, April 1, 2012

One Chance to Attend ‘Kitten Palooza!’ This Year: April 17 & 26
Invitation from the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Wednesday, March 28, 2012

NYC Spring Forecast: 100% Chance of Kittens
Request from the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC’s Animals
Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Controversy grows after Catholic priests starve cats in NY church
by Michael Stone, Examiner.com
Saturday, March 24, 2012

Feral cat fight at NYC church prompts archdiocese meeting
by Amy Worden, Philly Dawg, Philly.com
Friday, March 23, 2012

Action Alert! Archdiocese of New York Agrees to Meet
Announcement by the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Thursday, March 22, 2012

Archdiocese of New York Agrees to Meet to Discuss the St. James Church Cat Situation
by Out of the Cage!
Thursday, March 22, 2012

Action Alert! St. James Church Continues to Forbid Feeding Cats
Announcement by the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Wednesday, March 21, 2012

St. James Church Continues to Forbid Feeding Cats
by Out of the Cage!
Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Help the St. James Cat Colony
by Jason’s Pet Care
Monday, March 19, 2012

Action Alert! Priests Starve Cats at St. James Church
Announcement by the NYC Feral Cat InitiativeFeral Cat Initiative
Monday, March 19, 2012

Priests Starve Cats at St. James Church
Press Release by the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC’s Animals
Monday, March 19, 2012

Catfight over feral colony
by Amy Sacks and Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Saturday, March 17, 2012

Solving the Homeless Cat Crisis in NYC
by Jessica Breen, Joonbug
Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Finding a solution to feral cats
by Lisa Barbella and Lauren Hise, Medill Reports
Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Positive Pro Bono Efforts
by Interior Design
Thursday, March 1, 2012

Am I Your Little Girl?
Request from the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC’s Animals
Thursday, March 1, 2012

NYC Eartips: Always Trap Feral Kittens, Don’t Chase ‘Em Down and Bag ‘Em!
E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Push to get feral cats sterilized
by Sue Manning, The Associated Press
Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Feral cats that breed unchecked across country are focus of clinics, charities, welfare groups
by The Associated Press
Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Clarifying Local Law 59
by Out of the Cage!
Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Mayor’s Alliance Fine-tunes the NYC Feral Cat Initiative for 2012
by Out of the Cage!
Thursday, January 26, 2012

Architects for Animals’ creative cat shelters
by Laura Moss, Mother Nature Network
Friday, January 13, 2012

Architects for Animals
by Artsology
Thursday, January 12, 2012

One cool (or crazy) thing: Architects’ competition to design feral cat shelter
by Pat Jeffries, The Oregonian
Monday, January 9, 2012

Swanky Shelters To Keep Stray Cats Warm In The Winter
by Suzanne Labarre, Co.Design
Tuesday, January 3, 2012