Community Cats & TNR in the News (2010)

Follow local New York City and national news concerning feral and stray community cats and Trap-Neuter-Return (TNR).

New Yorkers: Are Cat Screams Giving You Bad Dreams?
Alexis Henry, Examiner.com
Tuesday, December 21, 2010

NYC Eartips (Fall/Holiday 2010)
The E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Tuesday, December 21, 2010

NYC Architects Support NYCFCI Efforts
by NYC Eartips: The E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Tuesday, December 21, 2010

NYC’s Outdoor Cats Get Help from Architects for Animals
by Out of the Cage! The E-Newsletter of the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC’s
Animals

Friday, December 17, 2010

Architects for Animals
by Jolene Robichaud, Pawesome
Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Keep your cat safe in cold weather
by Anne White, Examiner.com
Sunday, December 8, 2010

Tell University of Nebraska Corn Hucksters: We Are Not Buying What You Are Selling!
by Francis Battista, The Best Friends Blog
Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Architects for Animals Event – Come Out with Us!
by Janine, Jason’s Pet Care
Tuesday, December 7, 2010

NYC Architects Build Feral Cat Shelters
by Sonia Zjawinski, Pawesome
Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Group rescues, relocates feral cat colony from River Barge Park lot
by Brian Anderson, NorthJersey.com
Thursday, November 18, 2010

The Switzer Group Hosts Architects for Animals
by otto
Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Group holds workshop for building winter shelters for feral cats
by Amy Sara Clark, The Jersey Journal
Saturday, November 6, 2010

Feral Cat Group Holding Winter Shelter Building Workshop Saturday
by Jon Whiten, Jersey City Independent
Friday, November 5, 2010

TNR Workshop at Bay Ridge Public Library
by Kip, Bay Ridge Journal
Sunday, October 24, 2010

Celebrate National Feral Cat Day by Learning More about TNR
by Karen Nichols, The Cat’s Meow
Saturday, October 16, 2010

What Is Trap-Neuter-Return?
by Sonia Zjawinski, Pawesome
Friday, October 15, 2010

Plight of Feral Cats to be Discussed in the Information Fair at Fairview Mall
by Jayden Roberts, TopNews
Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Homeless cats multiply
by Christopher Caskey, The Citizen
Sunday, October 10, 2010

Ravenswood Cats Rescued From Crawl Spaces
by Cristina Guarino, The Queens Gazette
Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Fewer cats live beneath Atlantic City Boardwalk as volunteers help reduce population by half
by Lee Procida, Press of Atlantic City
Thursday, September 30, 2010

Committee hears plea to control township’s feral cats
by Amber Cox, Register-News
Wednesday, September 29, 2010

L.I. Community Tries To Solve Stray Cat Problem
by Mike Xirinachs, WCBS 880
Monday, September 27, 2010

Queens Person Of The Week: Animal Advocate’s Career Spans Three Decades
by Rocco Vertuccio, NY1 News
Saturday, September 25, 2010

Activist rescues dozens of cats a whisker from doom
by Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Volunteers rescue Ravenswood cats from crawl spaces
by Rebecca Henely, YourNabe.com
Thursday, September 2, 2010

Mayor helps save homeless cats in Queens
by Thea Feldman, Examiner.com
Thursday, August 26, 2010

Some fear cats trapped in Queens building
by Sandra Bookman, WABC-TV Channel 7 Eyewitness News
Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Alley Cat Allies Appeals to NYC Housing Authority: Allow Rescuers Access to Trapped Cats
Press Release by Alley Cat Allies
Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Taking pity on kitties: Fight to save felines sealed behind wall
by Jennifer Bain and Leonard Greene, New York Post
Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Damn lies and cat statistics
by Christie Keith, SF Gate
Wednesday, August 18, 2010

False Confessions
by Peter J. Wolf, Vox Felina
Thursday, August 12, 2010

NYC Feral Cat Initiative – TNR Workshop in Brooklyn, 8/7
by Dog Friendly Brooklyn
Friday, July 23, 2010

Belmont’s Cat Colonies
by Teresa Genaro, Brooklyn Backstretch
Friday, July 16, 2010

NYC Eartips (Summer 2010)
The E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Monday, July 12, 2010

Lopez Refuses to Hear TNR Proposal
by Kip, Bay Ridge Journal
Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Cat adoption and workshop July 31
by Patrick Rocchio, YourNabe.com
Monday, July 5, 2010

HSVMA Announces ‘Best Friend to Feral Cats’ Award Winners
by Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association
Thursday, July 1, 2010

Feline Foster Mom and Dad Taking Care of Rescued Kittens
by Amy B., Love Meow
Monday, June 28, 2010

Learning Your ABC
by Peter J. Wolf, Vox Felina
Friday, June 18, 2010

Battle over feral cats brewing on Long Island
by Josh Einiger, Eyewitness News, WABC-TV
Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Episode
14: Spring Into Action For Animals

by Susan Richard, All for Animals
Friday, May 28, 2010

Battista: Humane methods to control cat populations can — and do — work well
by Francis Battista, Austin American-Statesman
Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Housing Project Cats Face Eviction — or Worse
by Adelia Honeywood Harrison, Gotham Gazette
Friday, May 14, 2010

Spring Kitten Palooza! Workshop
by Laura Garber, Examiner.com
Monday, May 10, 2010

Hunting Feral Cats may Become Legal in New Jersey
by Jo Singer, Petside.com
Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Yo, Animal Lovers! Stuff to Do in May
by Sarah Han, Pawesome
Monday, May 3, 2010

After dark, the dirty work at Disneyland begins
by Hugo Martín, Los Angeles Times
Sunday, May 2, 2010

The Feral Cats of Ravenswood
by Kip, Bay Ridge Journal
Sunday, May 2, 2010

Care for Cats nonprofit performs Trap-Neuter-Return to humanely control cat populations
by Amy Sacks, New York Daily News
Saturday, April 17, 2010

TNR as a Public Health response to achieving No-Kill
by Ed Boks, From the Desk of Ed Boks
Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Claws out for NYCHA: Plan to remove kittens swarming crawlspaces hits snag
by Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Cat-Catching 101
by Erin and Lou Cicalese, BoogieDowner
Monday, April 12, 2010

Letter: Unite to solve Hudson County feral cat crisis
by Tony Squire, The Jersey Journal
Thursday, April 8, 2010

NYC Eartips (Spring 2010)
The E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Thursday, April 1, 2010

Edie Falco cares
by Josette Robles, Examiner.com
Saturday, March 27, 2010

Shelters Prepare for Kitten and Puppy Season
by Amy Lieberman, Zootoo
Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Feral Cats in the Crosshairs
by Stephanie Feldstein, Change.org
Sunday, March 21, 2010

New Research Exposes High Taxpayer Cost For “Eradicating” Free-Roaming Cats
Press Release by Best Friends Animal Society
Thursday, March 18, 2010

Animal groups: Could ruling lead to hunters shooting cats?
by Colleen O’Dea, Daily Record
Saturday, March 13, 2010

I Love NYC Pets Month Preview: Coney Island Cat Rescue
by Tricia Vita, Amusing the Zillion
Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Wily F Train Cat in East Broadway Station Eludes Rescue Efforts
by Suzanne Ma, DNAinfo
Thursday, January 14, 2010

Colonie strategy to take on stray cats
by Tim O’Brien, Times Union
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Helping Local Feral Cats!
by Sasha Davis, ChicagoMeow
Monday, July 26, 2010