Community Cats & TNR in the News (2008)

Follow local New York City and national news concerning feral and stray community cats and Trap-Neuter-Return (TNR).

New day for prison’s cats
by Ben Winslow, Deseret Morning News
Thursday, January 10, 2008

Animal activists join forces for spay/neuter program
by Kietryn Zychal, Pocono Record
Tuesday, February 26, 2008

The Feral Cat Database: Measuring the Impact of TNR
by Stacy Fox, KHOU-TV
Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Oyster Bay Approves Pilot Trap, Neuter & Return Program
by The Northender
Thursday, March 27, 2008

Enhanced Feral Cat Initiative website to Spur Greater Involvement by Caring New Yorkers
by Out of the Cage!
Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Town has pilot program to neuter feral cats
by Massapequa Post
Wednesday, April 2, 2008

JFK’s Feral Cats’ Fate is Terminal
by Dave Hogarty, Gothamist
Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Airport’s Disgusting Kitten Slaughter Proceeds
by Ryan Tate, Gawker
Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Cats at JFK facing death
by Newsday
Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Advocates: JFK starts removing kittens
by David Freedlander, Newsday
Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Advocates: JFK feral cats will face death
by David Freedlander, amNewYork
Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Feral cats should be trapped, neutered, released
by Sharon L. Peters, USA TODAY
Thursday, May 15, 2008

Friends of feral cats at Le Havre
by Victor Mimoni, The Queens Courier
Wednesday, May 7, 2008

New York State Anti-TNR Funding Bill Defeated!
by Bryan Kortis, Neighborhood Cats
Wednesday, June 25, 2008

JFK Feral Cats Still in Peril
by Best Friends Animal Society
Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Demonstrators Call for Stop to Inhumane Feral Cat Roundups
by Julie Hauserman, The Humane Society of the United
States (HSUS)
Friday, June 20, 2008

Cats!
by Cheryl Harris Sharman, Nightshift NYC
Monday, June 9, 2008

Palm Coast workshop focuses on ending feral cat problem
by Kari Cobham, Daytona Beach News-Journal
Sunday, June 7, 2008

Death trap at JFK – for wild cats
by Lisa L. Colangelo, New York Daily News
Thursday, June 5, 2008

Playing cat-and-mouse over JFK airport’s strays
by Rong Xiaoqing, South China Morning Post
Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Airport Cat Roundups Resume, as Do Protests
by Jennifer 8. Lee, City Room Blog, The New York Times
Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Global Warming Could be Causing a Kitten Boom, Experts Say
by Alyse Knorr, infoZine
Tuesday, July 22, 2008

New York. JFK Airport. Feral Cat Roundup. Demonstration. July 24. 2008.
by Chessbuff, On Loving Animals…
Saturday, July 19, 2008

Why are they killing the cats?
by Susan Wright
Saturday, July 19, 2008

Big Apple Protesters Fight for Feral Cats at Airport
by Tinabeth Piña, Zootoo
Thursday, July 3, 2008

FAA 1, Cats 0: JFK Airport felines Still On Death Row
by Erik Badia and Annie Blachley, Long Island
Press

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Reason 5,999,999 To Get Active In Trap-Neuter-Return
by Empty Cages Collective
Saturday, August 23, 2008

Attacks on feral cats feared in Woodlawn
by Rebecca Baker, The Journal News
Saturday, August 23, 2008

Cats Found Beaten, Burned & Mutilated In The Bronx
by The Associated Press
Friday, August 22, 2008

Feral cats found beaten, burned and mutilated in the Bronx
by Newsday
Friday, August 22, 2008

Residents Note Attacks on Feral Cats in the Bronx
by Trymaine Lee, The New York Times
Thursday, August 21, 2008

NYC Eartips (Summer 2008)
The E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Thursday, August 7, 2008

Community Trap Spay and Neuter Cooperation
by Cool Cat, Cool Cat Sites
Sunday, September 7, 2008

Cats, cats, cats everywhere!
by Holly Downing, Coshocton Tribune
Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Hootie: A feral cat in midtown Manhattan, loved and cared for
by Grahamn Kracker, No Cats Allowed!
Thursday, October 30, 2008

We can live with feral cats
by Pinkie Paranya, The Yuma Sun
Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Shea Cat Strut
by Karen Nichols, The Cat’s Meow
Sunday, October 5, 2008

Fan: Mets should take along luck-bearing cats
by 1010 WINS
Friday, October 3, 2008

Cat lover wants Shea kitties moved to Citi Field
by Carl MacGowan, Newsday
Friday, October 3, 2008

Outdoor shelters for feral cats on Long Island
by Denise Flaim, Newsday
Thursday, October 2, 2008

Urban feral cat population booming
by Susan Walker, Toronto Star
Sunday, November 23, 2008

Dedicated rescuer roasts turkey for Queens cats she loves
by Amy Sacks, New York Daily News
Saturday, November 22m 2008

Del Monte Pushes Meow Mix for a Good Cause
by Yul, Cats Working
Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Meow Mix Donates More Than 30,000 Lbs. of Cat Food to New York’s Homeless Cats and Their Caretakers
Press Release by the New York City Feral Cat Initiative
Thursday, November 12, 2008

Coalition has fix in mind for stray cats
by Alfred Dias, Walla Walla Union-Bulletin
Thursday, December 18, 2008

NYC Eartips (Fall 2008)
The E-Newsletter of the NYC Feral Cat Initiative
Thursday, December 4, 2008